Staff

Below are the roles and contact information for key members of West Exe School staff. If you cannot see the person you wish to contact, please use the Contact form on this website or email admin@westexe.devon.sch.uk.

Please be aware that during school holidays, individual members of staff may not be monitoring their email. They will reply to you as soon as possible after their return, but for a more immediate response please contact us using one of the methods above.

Mr Tim Rutherford

Headteacher

Overall responsibility as Headteacher for West Exe School

headteacher@westexe.devon.sch.uk

Mr Chris Lander

Deputy Headteacher

Responsible for Pastoral, Behaviour for Learning, Years 7-10 Progress Leader Teams, Student Services and attendance

clander@westexe.devon.sch.uk

Mrs Sheila Baker

Assistant Headteacher

Responsible for curriculum planning, Technology, NQT programme and CPD

sbaker@westexe.devon.sch.uk

Mr Damian Bartholomew

Assistant Headteacher

Responsible for Achievement, assessment/progress, data, Maths, English, Science, BCE and Year 11 Progress Leader Team

dbartholomew@westexe.devon.sch.uk

Mr Tim Hann

Assistant Headteacher

Responsible for Teaching and Learning, History, CES/RS/Citizenship, Geography, PE, Modern Languages and Appraisal

thann@westexe.devon.sch.uk

Mrs Karen Mellish

Assistant Headteacher

SENDCo and responsible for transition, primary liason, Art, Music, Drama, Student Voice and the Library

kmellish@westexe.devon.sch.uk

Ms Clare Sellick

School Business Manager

Responsible for finance, support staff, marketing, Health & Safety, personnel/HR and ICT Services

csellick@westexe.devon.sch.uk

Mrs Sherilyn Rawlinson

Director of Information Services

Responsible for management of data at West Exe School and SIMS provision

srawlinson@westexe.devon.sch.uk

Mr Ivan Schmidt

Head of Safeguarding

Responsible for safeguarding as Designated Safeguarding Lead

ischmidt@westexe.devon.sch.uk

Mrs Isobel Pentreath

SWTT Programme Manager

Responsible for leading the South West Teacher Training programme at West Exe School

ipentreath@westexe.devon.sch.uk

Miss Jessica Williams

Year 11 Progress Leader

Responsible for managing the Year 11 pastoral support team. (Your first point of contact should always be your child’s Tutor, who will then consult with the Progress Leader and others as required)

jwilliams@westexe.devon.sch.uk

Mr James Putt

Year 10 Progress Leader

Responsible for managing the Year 10 pastoral support team. (Your first point of contact should always be your child’s Tutor, who will then consult with the Progress Leader and others as required)

jputt@westexe.devon.sch.uk

Mr Paul Fidler

Year 9 Progress Leader

Responsible for managing the Year 9 pastoral support team. (Your first point of contact should always be your child’s Tutor, who will then consult with the Progress Leader and others as required)

pfidler@westexe.devon.sch.uk

Mr Steven Brown

Year 8 Progress Leader

Responsible for managing the Year 8 pastoral support team. (Your first point of contact should always be your child’s Tutor, who will then consult with the Progress Leader and others as required)

sbrown@westexe.devon.sch.uk

Miss Nicola Lewis

Year 7 Progress Leader

Responsible for managing the Year 7 pastoral support team. (Your first point of contact should always be your child’s Tutor, who will then consult with the Progress Leader and others as required)

nlewis@westexe.devon.sch.uk

Mrs Julie Fossey

Head of English

Responsible for English and English Literature curriculum

jfossey@westexe.devon.sch.uk

Mrs Laura Jacobs

Head of Mathematics

Responsible for Mathematics curriculum

ljacobs@westexe.devon.sch.uk

Mrs Caroline Brothwood

Head of Science

Responsible for Science, including the Biology, Physics and Chemistry curriculum

cbrothwood@westexe.devon.sch.uk

Ms Julie Poynsenby

Head of Business, Computing, and Enterprise

Responsible for ICT and Business Studies curriculum, most able co-ordinator

jpoynsenby@westexe.devon.sch.uk

Mr Rob Clemens

Head of Humanities

Responsible for Geography, History and Cultural and Ethical Studies (CES) curriculum

rclemens@westexe.devon.sch.uk

Mr David Salter

Head of Expressive Arts

Responsible for Drama, Music, Art, and Media Studies curriculum

dsalter@westexe.devon.sch.uk

Mrs Chris Davies

Head of PE

Responsible for PE curriculum

cdavies@westexe.devon.sch.uk

Mrs Helen Green

Assistant SENDCo

Responsible for managing the learning support team and liaison with relevant outside agencies

hgreen@westexe.devon.sch.uk

Miss Joanne O'Neill

Safeguarding Officer

Primary contact for all aspects of safeguarding and child protection

jo’neill@westexe.devon.sch.uk 

Mrs Nicola Archard

Attendance Officer

Responsible for monitoring attendance and being a point of contact for parents/carers with concerns about attendance

narchard@westexe.devon.sch.uk

Mrs Louise Garratt

Examinations Manager

Responsible for all aspects of exams entries, timetable, and results

lgarratt@westexe.devon.sch.uk

Mrs Sarah Rice

Work-related Learning Administrator

Responsible for managing work experience and liaison with other providers of vocational learning courses

srice@westexe.devon.sch.uk

Ms Claire Hoinville

EAL Co-ordinator

Responsible for support as needed for students who have a first language which is not English

choinville@westexe.devon.sch.uk