Key dates for Parents/Carers

Term dates

Autumn Term

Term commences                                                  Wednesday, 6 September 2017

Half Term                                                                Monday, 23 – Monday 30 October 2017

Last day of term                                                     Friday, 15 December 2017 (students will be dismissed at 1.25pm)

 

Spring Term

Term commences                                                  Thursday, 4 January 2018

Half Term                                                                Monday, 12 – Friday, 16 February 2018

Last day of term                                                     Thursday, 29 March 2018

 

Summer Term

Term commences                                                  Monday, 16 April 2018

May Day Holiday                                                    Monday, 7 May 2018

Half Term                                                                Monday, 28 May – Friday, 1 June 2018

Last day of term                                                     Wednesday, 25 July 2018 (students will be dismissed at 1.25pm)
Non-Pupil Days

Monday, 4 – Tuesday, 5 September 2017

Monday, 30 October 2017

Wednesday, 3 January 2018

Thursday, 26 July 2018

 

Parents’ evenings

Year 7 Meet the Tutor                                            Thursday, 5 October 2017                                      4 – 7pm

Year 11 SLT Interviews                                          Tuesday, 17 – Thursday, 19 October 2017            3.30 – 5.30pm

Year 9 Subject Evening                                         Thursday, 19 October 2017                                    4 – 7pm

Year 11 Subject Evening                                       Thursday, 23 November 2017                               4 – 7pm

Year 10 SLT Interviews                                          Tuesday, 12 – Thursday 14 December 2017         3.30 – 5.30pm

Year 10 Subject Evening                                       Thursday, 1 February 2018                                    4 – 7pm

Year 8 Options Evening                                         Thursday, 1 March 2018                                         5.30 – 6.30pm

Year 8 Subject Evening                                         Thursday, 8 March 2018                                         4 – 7pm

Year 11 SLT Interviews                                          Monday, 26 – Wednesday 28 March 2018            3.30 – 5.30pm

Year 7 Subject Evening                                         Wednesday, 28 March 2018                                   4- 7pm

Year 10 SLT Interviews                                          Tuesday, 5– Thursday, 7 June 2018                       3.30 – 5.30pm

 

Parent Group Meetings

Tuesday, 26 September 2017 6pm

Tuesday, 5 December 2017                   6pm

Tuesday, 6 February 2018                      6pm

Tuesday, 24 April 2018                           6pm

Tuesday, 19 June 2018                           6pm

 

Reports and exams

Reports will be issued three times during the academic year. They will be sent electronically to parents at the end of each term.  Exams are planned for the following times of year. These exams will be formal and students are expected to revise and prepare for them as if they were real exams.

Year 10                                                    Monday, 8 January – Friday, 19 January 2018

Year 11                                                    Monday, 19 February – Friday, 2 March 2018

Year 7 & 8                                                Tuesday, 8 May – Friday, 11 May 2018

Year 9 & 10                                              Monday, 18 June – Tuesday 3 July 2018

 

Rewards

Students should receive regular rewards and recognition of their excellent work. They will be awarded merits. These can be seen via https://www.classcharts.com/.  Please contact admin@westexe.devon.sch.uk if you require your ClassCharts login code.  Students can also be awarded Bronze, Silver, Gold and Platinum merit badges as well as subject specific awards.

The following awards evenings are planned for this year:

 

Sports Awards Evening                                                         Thursday, 12 October 2017                                    5.30 – 6.30pm

Year 7 & 8 Awards Evening                                                   Thursday, 21 June 2018                                         5.30 – 6.30pm

Year 9 Awards Evening                                                          Thursday, 28 June 2018                                         5.30 – 6.30pm

Year 10 Awards Evening                                                       Thursday, 12 July 2018                                           5.30 – 6.30pm