GCSE 9 to 1 Grading

Students in Years 11 and 10 can expect to have a mix of new and old qualifications including the new ‘Reformed’ GCSEs and GCSEs (or ‘un-reformed GCSEs).

From 2017, reformed GCSEs in England will be graded 9 to 1, and will ultimately replace the current “unreformed”  A*–G grading scale.

The grades will be awarded for the first time in summer 2017 exam results  for English Language, English Literature and Mathematics (these are “reformed” subjects).

By 2019, all reformed GCSEs in England will be using the new system.

Why has the grading system changed?

The 9 to 1 grading system has been put in place to accurately reflect the students’ abilities and achievements in each subject compared to the previous A* to G scale, especially among higher achieving students.

9 is the new top grade to identify the exceptional performance of the very highest achievers nationally. As an estimate, the new grades broadly correlate to the old letter grades as follows:

8 + replaces A*

7+ replaces A

6+ replaces B

4- 5 replaces C

3 replaces D

2 replaces E

1+ replaces low G and F

5 is acknowledged as the level expected by Post-16 providers.

Students of English and Maths will be expected to retake these subjects if they do not gain 5.