Snapchat - New feature warning

It has been brought to our attention that there is a new feature in Snapchat and we feel that parents should be made aware of this in order for you to discuss it with your child.

Apparently Snapchat have recently developed a ‘Maps’ mode that can be accessed on the main Snapchat screen.  Using two fingers to pinch outwards it is possible to access a global map that shows your exact location in ‘real-time’.  It will also show the location of all friends and people who may have added you, even if you have not added them back.

There is also a feature called ‘our story’ and basically if someone takes a snapchat of something and presses send it to ‘our story’ then it becomes accessible to literally anyone else in the world. Someone just needs to click on the city or town and they see what has been put into the story almost instantly as it is being added.

It is recommended that users who wish to stop their information being shared openly should use the settings button to protect their account.  The settings button is in the top right hand corner of the screen.  If this is clicked on then an option called ‘Ghost Mode’ can be accessed.  Clicking to the little tab to the right will turn it green and then the user’s privacy is then safe.

We hope you find this information useful.

Regards

The Safeguarding Team

West Exe School